RESOLUTION NO. 12/2023 OF THE TEACHING COUNCIL OF THE FACULTY OF ECONOMIC SCIENCES UNIVERSITY OF WARSAW

of June 14, 2023

on the regulations of the A. Semkow Award

Pursuant to § 5 of the Rules and Regulations of Studies at the University of Warsaw (Monitor UW of 2019 item 186), the Teaching Council of the Faculty of Economic Sciences resolves as follows:

§ 1

- 1. The consolidated text of the Regulations of the A. Semkow competition is formulated.
- 2. The regulations referred to in item 1 are attached to the resolution.

§ 2

The regulations of the A. Semkow competition, which are an annex to Resolution No. 4 of the Teaching Council of the Faculty of Economic Sciences of the University of Warsaw dated February 19, 2020 on the regulations of the A. Semkow competition, expire on June 14, 2023.

§ 3

The resolution comes into force on the day of its adoption, and the Regulations shall apply starting from awards granted for the 2022/23 academic year.

Dominika Gadowska-dos Santos, Ph.D. Chairperson of the Teaching Council of the Faculty of Economic Sciences University of Warsaw



to Resolution No. 12/2023 of the Teaching Council of the Faculty of Economic Sciences
University of Warsaw of June 14, 2023
on the regulations of the A. Semkow Award

Regulations of the competition for Andrzej Semkow Award for the best magister (master) degree thesis defended at the Faculty of Economic Sciences of the University of Warsaw

adopted by the Faculty Council of the Faculty of Economic Sciences of the University of Warsaw on June 3, 1987

as amended by the Faculty Council on November 20, 1996 and on November 4, 1998

and as amended by the Teaching Council on February 19, 2020 and on June 14, 2023

(consolidated text)

- The Andrzej Semkow Award (hereinafter referred to as the 'Award') is bestowed annually, since 1987, for the best magister (master) degree thesis written at the Faculty of Economic Sciences, University of Warsaw, from a fund donated to the Faculty by the Parents of the late Andrzej Semkow, adopted by the Senate of the University of Warsaw.
- The Award is granted by a committee appointed by the Faculty Council (for the Andrzej Semkow Award) for the term of office of the Faculty Council. The committee consists of the Dean (or Vice-Dean) as chairman and at least three professors elected from among the members of the Faculty Council of the Faculty of Economic Sciences.
- 3. The committee considers magister (master) degree theses recommended by the Teaching Council, defended at the Faculty of Economic Sciences of the University of Warsaw in the previous academic year within the deadline, evaluated as very good, with a very good result in the diploma examination.
- 4. The Teaching Council considers all theses that meet the conditions for admission to the Competition. The list of theses meeting the conditions of the Competition is drawn up by the Dean. Members of the Teaching Council who are academic teachers of the Faculty of Economic Sciences evaluate each thesis using the following scoring:
 - 3 phenomenal thesis, suitable for publication in a journal with *Impact Factor*,
 - 2.5 very good without corrections it is suitable for publication in a journal indexed at least in the *Emerging Sources Citation Index*;
 - 2 good thesis after corrections and additions, it is suitable for publication in a journal indexed at least in the *Emerging Sources Citation Index*;
 - 1 decent thesis, but not for publication as above
 - 0 poor thesis



Each thesis is evaluated by two people who are familiar with the subject matter of the thesis and have not evaluated the thesis at previous stages. The persons evaluating the theses are indicated by the chairman of the Teaching Council. The Teaching Council recommends to the Committee a number of the best theses, which have received not less than 5 points in the evaluation of the Teaching Council. Overall grading follows the discussion of these thesis by the Teaching Council.

- 5. The Award is granted no later than the end of March of the year following the academic year in which the defenses took place.
- 6. By decision of the Committee, one or two Awards may be bestowed in a given year.
- 7. The Award winner receives a diploma and a cash prize, the amount of which is decided by the Committee. The Committee takes into account the wish of the founders that the individual Award should not be lower than the current average nominal wage in the country.
- 8. Presentation of the Award takes place at a meeting of the Faculty Council.
- 9. The decisions of the Committee are recorded and a Book of Winners is kept.

